Autunite sample count discrepancies
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Kcp30228

USA
4 Posts

Posted - 04/12/2023 :  14:11:43  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello all! I purchased a GMC-500 sometime last October. I have had some autunite samples in a sealed vial for several years. It's about 2 or 3 g of flakes. When I 1st took a reading with my new Geiger counter it would read about 2000 counts per minute. As the months went by the count got lower and lower. I just thought it was the flakes "decaying"… Anyway, I also started noticing that my background atmospheric count went from about 30 counts per minute to eventually going to one count or even just 0. I sent my Geiger counter back and they replaced it. My background count registers around 20 counts per minute. My autunite flakes are registering around 300 counts per minute. Why would that sample go from 2000 CPM down to 300 in less than 6 months?

I'm very new to this hobby and I'm learning a lot. Should I expect that sample count to drop so rapidly? What would be the best way to check that my equipment is functioning properly? Would it be a good idea to purchase a verifiable check source such as cobalt 64 cesium 137 with laboratory certified numbers to check against a my device?

Reply #1

ullix

Germany
1107 Posts

Posted - 04/13/2023 :  04:46:19  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
If I am not mistaken then Autunite is an Uranium based mineral. If so, and your sample is not contaminated with any other radioactive substance, then we are talking Megayears of half-life. Meaning, you won't see a change in activity in your lifetime!

Can you post a photo of your sample, and how you position the counter for measurement?

Since you are new to this hobby I strongly recommend to not spend any money to purchase hot "certified" radiators! Once you got them, you would do what with them? Which result would tell you good or bad?