Newbie here, GMC 500+
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Glow Girl

USA
2 Posts

Posted - 07/20/2017 :  16:00:06  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi, I literally opened the box today and started playing with this device. The user manual is terrible and I so far have not found any youtube videos about this model. I have been learning how to work the menu and trying it out on known sources to see how the calibration is. I currently have two Radex 1500+ and a Ludlum Pancake Probe that's in to be fixed now. I bought an SBT-11 tube, bought haven't built anything with it yet, as I am NOT tech savvy and need hubby's help.

It takes my 500+ longer to get a full read than my Radex, but the range is much higher, as the Radex maxes at 9.99 uSv/hr.
A fiestaware plate that I got 59,000cmp on my pancake reads a max of 7809 cmp on the same plate with my 500+. Why is that?

I am happy to meet you all and I've been watching for months and no one was covering the Salt Lake City area on any of the maps I'd seen, so I plan to do that. I've been taking daily readings, every day, for hours with my Radex, but that doesn't show cpm, just uSv/hr or mR/hr.

Is it alright to use for both monitoring for the map and cataloguing and measuring my specimens? I wouldn't do that at the same time. I also have a Mac which might make it difficult to hook into the map. Nice to meet you all and I hope I can get my new 500+ on the map soon. Thank you!

They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.
Reply #1

ullix

Germany
1107 Posts

Posted - 07/21/2017 :  02:47:53  Show Profile  Reply with Quote