Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 GQ Electronics Forums
 2.GQ Geiger Muller Counter
 GQ GMC-500 Plus buying advice

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkInsert EmailInsert Image Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List Spell Checker

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]

Insert an Image File
Check here to include your profile signature.

T O P I C    R E V I E W
CrocodileDandee Posted - 07/06/2020 : 05:54:28
Hi there, I’m a newbie but very interested to buy the 500+. I read a lot about problems occurring with the second tube. Is that a constant problem or just a software issue? I wouldn’t like to buy a device to disable one tube to make it working correct as it should be. I want to go to Maralinga site In Australia where the British exploded about 7 Atomic Bombs between 1956-1957 to test out this device if you convince me to buy it. Many thanks for your help and responses. I found it on amazon australia for about 149 Australian Dollars.
12   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
CrocodileDandee Posted - 07/10/2020 : 02:57:00
quote:
Originally posted by Stargazer 40

Firmware is keyed to the serial number (and installed hardware) of the meter. You get the serial from the meter and email to support at GQ. Then they send a link for you to download and install. It is a bit cumbersome, but GQ maintains pretty tight control of firmware. At the same time the company continually improves hardware features, so it's necessary to treat each meter uniquely.