Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 GQ Electronics Forums
 4. GQ Hot Air Soldering Rework Station
 I am new

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkInsert EmailInsert Image Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List Spell Checker

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]

Insert an Image File
Check here to include your profile signature.

T O P I C    R E V I E W
Sarie Posted - 01/17/2015 : 02:34:29
Hi,

I bought the 5200 Soldering SMD rework station, in all fairness I am new to soldering I bought this device as I want to start building my own quadcopters and at times fix/upgrade my collection, after research I came out and bought the 5200. Needless to say I am operating on 240 watts machine. I have been having problem doing any soldering successfully. I am either to cold as a device or too hot. The only way I am able to solder only on high heat i.e. 350+ degrees Celecius. Meanwhile, all the videos state otherwise in terms of temp. The wires I am using are at best 14 AWG, yet no success. In addition trying to connect T60's connectors.

What am I doing wrong? majority of the soldering is cloudy, too much smoke, etc. etc.
2   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
ZLM Posted - 01/20/2015 : 11:20:04
The GQ-5200 has hot air and the iron for soldering. If you are trying to solder a wire, then iron is the correct tool to use. The hot air is for SMD chip like devices.